fbpx

Faculty               

At La Scuola, we believe that faculty is the heart of a school.

Comprised of both Europeans and Americans, our teachers are native speakers of the main language in which they teach and are skilled in guiding students to learn in two languages. Those who received their educational training in Italy must also hold the appropriate credentials required by the Ministero dell’Istruzione, Universita’ e Ricerca (MIUR), and are required to have verbal and written fluency in the English language. Teachers who received their educational training in the USA are required to have at least a Bachelor’s degree in the subject area, as well as pedagogical training. Several members of the faculty hold terminal degrees from both European and American universities.

Our faculty members bring not only technical expertise and impressive credentials, but a demonstrated caring and compassion for our students. In addition to helping the students discover knowledge, our faculty is instilling in them a love of learning that stays with them well after graduation.

Preschool and Elementary School Teachers

Belfi, Joseph, Elementary School Coordinator

Elementary School English, Science and Social Studies

BA in Elementary Education, Edison State College, NJ

jbelfi@lascuoladitalia.org

Cinquemani, Maria, Preschool Coordinator

Kindergarten Italian

Diploma Maturità magistrale, Istituto Magistrale Agrigento, Italia

mcinquemani@lascuoladitalia.org

Bellissimo, Daniel 

Elementary School Italian as a New Language

BA in Scienze della comunicazione, Univ. di Perugia, Italia

BA and MA in Glottodidattica e insegnamento della lingua italiana a stranieri, Univ. per stranieri di Perugia

dbellissimo@lascuoladitalia.org

Bonerba, Piera

Preschool and Elementary School Art

Laurea magistrale in Scenografia, Accademia di Belle Arti, Roma, Italia

pbonerba@lascuoladitalia.org

Clementi, Stefania 

Preschool and Elementary School Counselor

Laurea in Psicologia dello Sviluppo e dell’Educazione, Univ. La Sapienza, Roma, Italia/Post Graduate Advanced Certificate in Special Education–Autism Spectrum Disorder, Brooklyn College, NY

sclementi@lascuoladitalia.org

Catalano, Riccardo

Technology

Laurea in Scienze dell’Educazione, Universita’ di Genova, Italia

rcatalano@lascuoladitalia.org

Rottino, Laura

Elementary School English, Science and Social Studies

BA in General, Special and Early Childhood Education, St Joseph College, NY/MA in Literacy Education, Hunter College, NY

Preschool English

Ph.D. Italian Studies, Univ. of California,  Berkley, CA

B.A. English Literature, Smith College, NorthHampton, MA

lrottino@lascuoladitalia.org

Costa, Emanuela

Elementary, Math and Technology 3rd/4th/5tn Grade

BA in Social Science; Master’s in Legislazione Scolastica e Managment della Negoziozione, Universita’ di Perugia, Italia

ecosta@lascuoladitalia.org

Di Maggio, Antonia

Elementary School Italian, History and Geography

Diploma Magistrale, Palermo, Italia

adimaggio@lascuoladitalia.org

Luisi, Francesca

Preschool  Italian

BA in Education and Teacher Training in a Multicultural Society, Tor Vergata University, Roma, Italia / MA in School Counseling at “A.S.P.I.C per la Scuola” Roma.

fluisi@lascuoladitalia.org

Brenda Quattrini 

Elementary School Music and Performance Coordinator

Laurea in Performance Cum Laude, Conducting , Opera Conducting, Piano, Conservatory of Music “San Pietro a Majella,” Napoli, Italia/Piano Master, The Catholic Univ. of America, Washington, D.C.

bquattrini@lascuoladitalia.org

Francesca, Vicchio, Elementary Coordinator

Elementary School Italian, History and Geography 

Laurea Triennale in Filosofia/CEDILS/Laurea Magistrale in Filologia e letteratura italiana/Master post-lauream in Progettazione avanzata dell’insegnamento della lingua e cultura italiane a stranieri, Univ. Ca’ Foscari, Venezia, Italia

fvicchio@lascuoladitalia.org

Morga, Christine

Elementary School English as a New Language

BA Interdisciplinary Studies, Hofstra Univ., NY/MA in English as a Second Language, State Univ. of New York, Stony Brook, NY

cmorga@lascuoladitalia.org

Sartor, Elena

Preschool Creative Movement& Music 

Laurea in Letteratura. Universita’ Ca Foscari

esartor@lascuoladitalia.org

Rottino, Laura

Elementary School English, Science and Social Studies

BA in General, Special and Early Childhood Education, St Joseph College, NY/MA in Literacy Education, Hunter College, NY

lrottino@lascuoladitalia.org

Rubiera, José

Elementary School Physical Education

BA in Physical Education, Long Island University, NY

jrubiera@lascuoladitalia.org

King, Alyssa

Elementary English 1st-2nd Grade

Certified Teacher, Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Education, Hunter College (Grades 1-6). City University of New York, Hunter College, NY

aking@lascuoladitalia.org

Lanza, Francesca

Kindergarten English

BA in English Literature /MA in Childhood Education, Adelphi University, NY

flanza@lascuoladitalia.org

Stipo, Stefania

Elementary School Italian, History and Geography

Laurea in Lingue e Let straniere/ MA in inglese ed informatica/Masters in didattica della lingua inglese, Torvergata Univ. Rome, Italy

sstipo@lascuoladitalia.org

Zordan, Massimo, Artist in Residence (Theater) 

Elementary School Theater 

MA in Theater,  ‘Accademia d’Arte Drammatica’ of  Palmi Calabro, Italia / Corso internazionale itinerante di perfezionamento teatrale, Ecole Des Maîtres, The International Touring Theatre Master Class, 1995

mzordan@lascuoladitalia.org

Middle and High School Teachers

Prater, Michael, Head of Upper School

High School English and Social Studies

BA History, Queens College, NY, Charlotte NC/MA Social Studies, Columbia Univ., NY

mprater@lascuoladitalia.org

Lucchi, Nicola, 

High School History and Philosophy 

Laurea in Filosofia and MA Filosofia della Scienza, Univ. di Milano, Italia / MA Italian Studies, Univ. of Illinois, IL and ABD in Italian Studies, NYU, NY

nlucchi@lascuoladitalia.org

Baldassarri, Marta, PhD

Middle School and High School Math and Physics

Laurea in Mechanical Engineering, Univ. di Bologna, Italia/MS in Biomedical Engineering, Tufts Univ., MA/PhD in Mechanical Engineering, Univ. Politecnica delle Marche, Italia/The Forsyth Institute, Boston, MA/Post Doc in Biomedical Engineering, New York University, NY

mbaldassarri@lascuoladitalia.org

Di Michele, Fabrizia

Middle School and High School Science

Master’s Degree in Biology Education, Touro College, New York

Master’s Degree in Biology Applied to Biomedical Research, Universita’ di Roma La Sapienza, Italy

fdimichele@lascuoladitalia.org

DiMalta, Violaine

Middle School and High School French

Master of Art in Teaching: English Language & Literature, Montpellier University,France

vdimalta@lascuoladitalia.org

Bellissimo, Daniel 

Middle School and High School Italian as a New Language

BA in Scienze della comunicazione, Univ. di Perugia, Italia

BA and MA in Glottodidattica e insegnamento della lingua italiana a stranieri, Univ. per stranieri di Perugia

dbellissimo@lascuoladitalia.org

Clementi, Stefania

Middle School/High School Psychology

Laurea in Psicologia dello Sviluppo e dell’Educazione, Univ. La Sapienza,  Roma, Italia/Post Grad Advanced Certificate in Special Education-Autism Spectrum Disorder, Brooklyn College, NY

sclementi@lascuoladitalia.org

Ghezzo, Flora, PhD

High School Italian and Italian as a New Language

Laurea in Lettere, Ca’ Foscari, Venezia, Italia/PhD in Italian Studies, Rutgers Univ., NJ, Post Doctorate in Italian Studies, Columbia Univ., NY

fghezzo@lascuoladitalia.org

Giamo, Mary

Middle School English

BA in Journalism, Marquette Univ. Milwaukee, WI/ MA in Creative Writing, City College of NY, NY/Certificate in ESL, The Center for English Studies

mgiaimo@lascuoladitalia.org

Giannini, Eva

Middle School and High School Italian

MA degree in Italian Literature, University of Bologna, Italia / MA in Philosophy, Birkbeck College, University of London, UK / Ballet teacher diploma, Russian Ballet Association / Graham technique teacher diploma, Martha Graham Contemporary Dance School, New York, NY
egiannini@lascuoladitalia.org

Pietri-Coimbre, Jose M.

 Music

Queens College, City University of New York Flushing, NY/MA in violin performance. School for Strings New York, NY/ Suzuki Long Term Teacher Training and Certification (Every Child Can, Books 1-8)/ University of Maryland, College Park College Park, MD

jcoimbre@lascuoladitalia.org

Santos, Victor PhD

High School Science

PhD in Biology, Saint John University, NY

vsantos@lascuoladitalia.org

Morga, Christine

Middle School and High School Italian as a New Language

BA Interdisciplinary Studies, Hofstra University/MA in ESL, Stony Brook, SUNY, NY

cmorga@lascuoladitalia.org

Paladini, Beatrice, PhD

High School Math and Physics 

Laurea in Fisica, Univ. di Milano, Italia/PhD in Physics, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland

bpaladini@lascuoladitalia.org

Pierce, Nels

High School Art

BA in Fine Arts, Univ. Milwaukee, WI/MFA in Fine Art&Painting, Parsons’ School of Design, NY

npierce@lascuoladitalia.org

Pitti, Ilenia, 

Middle School World History, American History and Geography 

BA in Liberal Arts, Montclair State Univ. NJ/MA in Italian Studies and ABD Italian Studies, Rutgers University, NJ

ipitti@lascuoladitalia.org

Rubiera, José        

Middle School and High School Physical Education

BS in Physical Education, Long Island University, NY

jrubiera@lascuoladitalia.org

Rudoni, Elia

High School Latin

ABD in Classics, Columbia University, NY

erudoni@lascuoladitalia.org

Martire, Anthony, PhD

High School English and Social Studies

PhD in Comparative Literature, Univ. of California, Berkeley, CA

amartire@lascuoladitalia.org

Vacca, Mauro 

High School Math and Physics

Laurea in Ingegneria Elettrotecnica,  Universita’ di Cagliari, Italia/Master’s Degree in Elettronica e Telecomunicazioni Universitá CICESE, Ensenada Mexico

mvacca@lascuoladitalia.org