+1 (212) 369-3290 admissions@lascuoladitalia.org

Staff & Faculty

Meet Our Team
Full Staff DirectoryADMINISTRATION
La scuola faculty

The Heart of a School

At La Scuola, we believe that faculty is the heart of a school. Our teachers and administrators bring not only technical expertise and impressive credentials, but a demonstrated caring and compassion for our students. In addition to helping the students discover knowledge, our faculty instills a love of learning that inspires them daily and stays with them well after graduation.

Our Teachers

Like our student body, our faculty includes American and international members. They are native speakers of the main language in which they teach and they are skilled in guiding students to learn in two languages. Those who received their educational training in Italy must also hold the appropriate credentials required by the Ministero dell’Istruzione, Universita’ e Ricerca (MIUR), and are required to have verbal and written fluency in the English language. Teachers who received their educational training in the United States are required to have at least a Bachelor’s degree in the subject area, as well as pedagogical training. Several members of the faculty hold terminal degrees from both European and American universities.

Preschool & Elementary Teachers

Stefania Stipo

Elementary School Coordinator

Deputy Head of School Ad Interim, Elementary School Italian, History and Geography 

Laurea in Lingue e Let straniere/ MA in inglese ed informatica/Masters Laurea in Lingue e Letterature Straniere Moderne, Tor Vergata Univ. Rome, Italy

sstipo@lascuoladitalia.org

Maria Cinquemani

Preschool Coordinator

Kindergarten Italian

Diploma Maturità magistrale, Istituto Magistrale Agrigento, Italia

mcinquemani@lascuoladitalia.org

Daniel Bellissimo

Elementary School Italian as a New Language

 

BA in Scienze della comunicazione, Univ. di Perugia, Italia

BA and MA in Glottodidattica e insegnamento della lingua italiana a stranieri, Univ. per stranieri di Perugia

dbellissimo@lascuoladitalia.org

Francesca Vicchio

Elementary School Italian, History and Geography

 

Laurea Triennale in Filosofia/CEDILS/Laurea Magistrale in Filologia e letteratura italiana/Master post-lauream in Progettazione avanzata dell’insegnamento della lingua e cultura italiane a stranieri, Univ. Ca’ Foscari, Venezia, Italia

fvicchio@lascuoladitalia.org

Piera Bonerba

Preschool and Elementary School Art

Laurea magistrale in Scenografia, Accademia di Belle Arti, Roma, Italia

pbonerba@lascuoladitalia.org

Elena Sartor

Preschool Creative Movement & Music

 

Laurea in Letteratura. Universita’ Ca Foscari

esartor@lascuoladitalia.org

Stefania Clementi

Preschool and Elementary School Counselor

Laurea in Psicologia dello Sviluppo e dell’Educazione, Univ. La Sapienza, Roma, Italia/Post Graduate Advanced Certificate in Special Education–Autism Spectrum Disorder, Brooklyn College, NY.

sclementi@lascuoladitalia.org

Laura Rottino

Elementary School English, Science and Social Studies

BA in General, Special and Early Childhood Education, St Joseph College, NY/MA in Literacy Education, Hunter College, NY

lrottino@lascuoladitalia.org

Riccardo Catalano

Technology

Laurea in Scienze dell’Educazione, Universita’ di Genova, Italia

rcatalano@lascuoladitalia.org

José Rubiera

Elementary School Physical Education

 

BA in Physical Education, Long Island University, NY

jrubiera@lascuoladitalia.org

Alyssa King

Elementary English 1st-2nd Grade

Certified Teacher, Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Education, Hunter College (Grades 1-6). City University of New York, Hunter College, NY

aking@lascuoladitalia.org

Emanuela Costa

Elementary, Math and Technology 3rd/4th/5tn Grade

BA in Social Science; Master’s in Legislazione Scolastica e Managment della Negoziozione, Universita’ di Perugia, Italia

ecosta@lascuoladitalia.org

Francesca Lanza

Kindergarten English

BA in English Literature /MA in Childhood Education, Adelphi University, NY

flanza@lascuoladitalia.org

Antonia Di Maggio

Elementary School Italian, History and Geography

Diploma Magistrale, Palermo, Italia

adimaggio@lascuoladitalia.org

Devon Luckey

Elementary English Teacher

dluckey@lascuoladitalia.org

Brenda Quattrini

Elementary School Music and Performance Coordinator

Laurea in Performance Cum Laude, Conducting , Opera Conducting, Piano, Conservatory of Music “San Pietro a Majella,” Napoli, Italia/Piano Master, The Catholic Univ. of America, Washington, D.C.

bquattrini@lascuoladitalia.org

Middle & High School Teachers

Anthony Martire

Upper School Coordinator

High School English & Social Studies

BA, Italian Studies/Comparative Literature, University of California Santa Barbara; MA/PhD in Italian Studies, University of California Berkeley. 

amartire@lascuoladitalia.org

Eva Giannini

Middle School Coordinator

Middle School and High School Italian

BA, Lettere Moderne at Bologna University; MA, Italian Literature, University of Bologna, Italia; MA in Philosophy, Birkbeck College, University of London, UK; Ballet teacher diploma, Russian Ballet Association; Graham technique teacher diploma, Martha Graham Contemporary Dance School, New York, NY

egiannini@lascuoladitalia.org

Daniel Bellissimo

Middle School and High School Italian as a New Language

 

BA, Scienze della comunicazione, Univ. di Perugia, Italia

BA, MA in Glottodidattica e insegnamento della lingua italiana a stranieri, Univ. per stranieri di Perugia

dbellissimo@lascuoladitalia.org

Andrea Minardi, PhD

High School Science

 

Laurea Triennale, Scienze e Tecnologie Agrarie , Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore; Laurea Magistrale in Scienze e Tecnologie Agrarie; PhD Agrisystem – Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore.

amindardi@lascuoladitalia.org

Eve Bromberg

Middle and Upper School American History, College Advising

BA, Philosophy, Kenyon College; MA, Liberal Studies, The Graduate Center CUNY.

ebromberg@lascuoladitalia.org

Beatrice Paladini, PhD

High School Math and Physics

Laurea in Fisica, Univ. di Milano, Italia/PhD in Physics, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland

bpaladini@lascuoladitalia.org

Stefania Clementi

Middle School/High School Psychology

Laurea in Psicologia dello Sviluppo e dell’Educazione, Univ. La Sapienza,  Roma, Italia/Post Grad Advanced Certificate in Special Education-Autism Spectrum Disorder, Brooklyn College, NY

sclementi@lascuoladitalia.org

Nels Pierce

High School Art

 

BA in Fine Arts, Univ. Milwaukee, WI/MFA in Fine Art&Painting, Parsons’ School of Design, NY

npierce@lascuoladitalia.org

Violaine DiMalta

Middle School and High School French

Master of Art in Teaching: English Language & Literature, Montpellier University,France

vdimalta@lascuoladitalia.org

Jose M. Pietri-Coimbre

Music

BM, music performance, violin, and voice, Puerto Rico Conservatory of Music; MA in music performance, Aaron Copland School of Music, Queens College, CUNY.

jcoimbre@lascuoladitalia.org

Chiara Di Paolo

Middle and High School Science Teacher

 

cdipaolo@lascuoladitalia.org

Michael Prater

Head of School ad interim

High School English and Social Studies

BA, History, Queens College (NC); MA, Social Studies, Columbia University

mprater@lascuoladitalia.org

Flora Ghezzo, PhD

High School Italian and Italian as a New Language

Laurea in Lettere, Ca’ Foscari, Venezia, Italia/PhD in Italian Studies, Rutgers Univ., NJ, Post Doctorate in Italian Studies, Columbia Univ., NY

fghezzo@lascuoladitalia.org

Mattia Roveri

High School History and Philosophy

Ph.D. in Italian Studies, University of St. Andrews (UK); Triple Masters Degree in European Humanities, Università di Bergamo (IT), University of St. Andrews (UK), Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen (DE); BA, Lingue, Letterature e Culture Straniere, Università di Bergamo.

Alba Lombardini

Middle School World History & Geography

BS, Education, Universita’ degli Studi di Milano; Bachelor in Social, l’Istituto Scientifico Eugenio Medea of Bosisio Parini;

alombardini@lascuoladitalia.org

José Rubiera

Middle School and High School Physical Education

BS in Physical Education, Long Island University, NY

jrubiera@lascuoladitalia.org

Joe Sheppard

High School Latin

Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Latin and English, Victoria University of Wellington (New Zealand); Ph.D. Classical Studies, Columbia University.

jsheppard@lascuoladitalia.org

Vanessa Williams

Middle School English, 12th Grade Civics

BA, Political Science, The College of St. Benedict; Juris Doctor, The University of St. Thomas; Master of Divinity, Bethel University; Doctor of Philosophy, Fordham University.

vwilliams@lascuoladitalia.org

A Word

From Our Head of School

As the only preK-12 Italian/English school in North America, La Scuola is unique in what it offers to families wishing to cultivate life-long learners in an atmosphere of friendship and inclusion. More than an Italian school, La Scuola prides itself on being an international community that is accessible to all, endowed with an abiding respect for the great principles of Renaissance genius. Students will continually benefit from the vastness of ideas, imagination, and innovation that Italy has exchanged with the world; and they first encountered it here, in New York City.

– Michael Prater

Head of School Ad Interim

Administration 

Head of School

Michael Haley Prater

Ad Interim

mprater@lascuoladitalia.org

Deputy Head of School

Stefania Stipo

Ad interim

sstipo@lascuoladitalia.org

Director of Business and Operations

Noubar Torossian

ntorossian@lascuoladitalia.org

Enrollment Representative

Gemma Richardson

grichardson@lascuoladitalia.org

School Counselor

Stefania Clementi

sclementi@lascuoladitalia.org

Executive Assistant, Lower School

Paola Serrone

pserrone@lascuoladitalia.org

Executive Assistant, Upper School

Stefano Lanfredini

slandfredini@lascuoladitalia.org

Facility Services

Ismael Ruiz

iruiz@lascuoladitalia.org

Trustees

La Scuola is governed by an independent Board of Trustees comprised of educators, parents, alumni, and leaders representing a variety of industries.

Chairman

Massimo F. D’Angelo, Esq.

Partner, Akerman, LLP

Vice Chair

Diego Rodino di Miglione

Managing Director, Cushman & Wakefield

Treasurer

Joe Morandi

Morgan Stanley

Secretary

Lucia Carbone, PhD

Curator of Roman Coins, American Numismatic Society 

Members

Marco Bianchi

Head of Futures, FlexTrade Systems

Alfredo Maria De Falco

Head of Corporate and Individual Solutions, Unicredit SpA

Matteo Dolci

Chief Operating Officer WP USA

Maria Fiorini

President and CEO,
Maria Fiorini Ramirez, Inc

Valentino Gallo

Partner, Javalyn Partners LLC

Dominick Golio, MD., M.B.A

 

Gian Maria Magrini

Portfolio Manager, Bardin Hill Investment Partners

Joe Morandi

Morgan Stanley

Fabio Santucci

President of Mediterranean Shipping Company (USA)

Nicola Tegoni

Esq: Partner, Dunnington Bartholow & Miller, LLP

Francesca Verga, MD

Surgery Center Michele Verga, MD, PC

John M. Viola

Alesssandro Zamperdri

Real Estate Developer

Ex-Officio

Minister Fabrizio Di Michele

Consul General of Italy in New York

Michael Prater

Head of School, ad interim

Stefania Stipo

Deputy Head of School, ad interim

Nationalities Represented

year Established

Student-to- Faculty Ratio

after-school programs

Connect With Us

Location: 12 E 96th St, New York, NY 10128

Telephone: (212) 369-3290

Email: admissions@lascuoladitalia.org